Article Tools

Font size
Share This

Photo: N/A, License: N/A, Created: 2014:05:30 08:16:38

Anna Jane Heckman of Clarks Summit and Terry J. Macknosky of South Abington Township were recently honored for academic excellence, service or both at the recent Class Night ceremony at the University of Scranton.

Heckman was the recipient of the Excellence in Marketing award. A marketing major with a minor in operations management, Heckman was a member of the business leadership honors program. She was also a member of the Beta Gamma Sigma, Omega Beta Sigma, Omicron Delta Epsilon and Alpha Sigma Nu honor societies. Heckman served as an orientation assistant, was a member of the University of Scranton programming board, worked as an undergraduate research assistant and was named to “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.” She plans to move to the New York City area to pursue a career in marketing research or consumer analytics in addition to studying for an MBA degree. Heckman graduated from Abington Heights High School.

Macknosky was the recipient of the Excellence in Nursing award (LPN to BSN) as well as the Alumni Loyalty and Service award. Macknosky was a member of the Sigma Theta Tau and Alpha Sigma Lambda honor societies. She was named to “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges,” received the Charlotte W. Newcombe Foundation scholarship, owned PTS Incorporated in Scranton and participated in a two-week pilgrimage to Uganda with the nursing and theology departments to study health issues in Africa. Macknosky is a seven-year board member of the Abington Meadows Property Association and has served as a volunteer for the Ronald McDonald House, the American Heart Association, the United Way of Lackawanna County Annual Fundraising Campaign, and the Education Advisement Committee for Allied Medical and Technical Institute. Macknosky intends to pursue her master’s degree.

From left: Patricia Harrington, Ed.D., interim provost and senior vice president for academic affairs; Anna Heckman and Terry Macknosky.